According to Oklahoma law, it is illegal to operate a vehicle without auto insurance. This is becoming the norm for many states across the country but every state is allowed to set its own minimum requirements for auto insurance.
The minimums set forth by Oklahoma law include a minimum coverage of $25,000 per person to cover death or injury, a minimum of $50,000 in total for death or injury if multiple people are hurt in an accident, as well as a minimum of $25,000 in coverage for property damage for an accident.
Along with the minimum requirements, there are also optional coverages you can add to your auto policy. Some of the options you have to add to your policy include collision insurance to help pay for repairs after an accident, comprehension insurance for repairs that are associated with things like theft or fire, uninsured motorist to pay for damages caused by a driver that is not insured, and medical to help pay for medical bills after an accident.
The consequences for driving without insurance can be a lot to handle. If you decide to drive without insurance, you may have to deal with some of these penalties. According to Oklahoma law, the penalties can include up to $250 in fines, 30 days in jail, suspension of your driver's license, and suspension of your vehicle registration. Essentially, you could lose the freedom to drive for some time so it is much better to get the minimum insurance required by law.
Before you get out on the road and start driving your vehicle, make sure that you have at least the minimum coverage required by Oklahoma law. If you do not have coverage or would like to explore other options, please contact one of the independent insurance agents at Aarvin Insurance Services for a quote or simply use our online tool to get started.